Jump

photo[2]A famous philosopher, D.L. Roth intoned, “You’ve got to roll with the punches to get to what’s real. Can’t you see me standing here?
I’ve got my back against the record machine, I ain’t the worst that you’ve seen. Oh can’t you see what I mean? Might as well jump!”

Do you have a 5 year plan?  Or do you just have a one year plan you’ll get to in 4 years?

Even the most determined people I know procrastinate and often delay their plans and dreams until they think (hope is more accurate) the circumstances will be just right.
“If we wait until we’re ready, we’ll be waiting for the rest of our lives.”
Lemony Snicket, The Ersatz Elevator

Every book about achievement I’ve ever read beats the same drum about setting goals, measurable ones and just as important, committing to those goals in writing.
And I’ll admit it, I’m a goal setter and usually have a short, long and distant goal for nearly every aspect of my life; relationships, financial, career, health and even mindfulness.  I keep record of my progress and apply leverage with every technology available to me.  My wife and I check in weekly and regularly talk about our plans.  Always refining and measuring, measuring and refining.

Sometimes however, planning IS the problem.
Sometimes if we directed half the time we give to our planning and talk of our intentions, we’d have achieved what we wanted – or put a sizable dent in the goal at the very least. Planning and intention can make us feel like we’re making progress when all we are really doing is procrastinating.

Do you have a 5 year plan?  Or do you just have a one year plan you’ll get to in 4 years?

I know a few people in unhappy relationships who “have plans” to change their circumstances.  People in jobs they don’t particularly like who “have a plan.”  These people honestly wear me out and I’ve been more intentional in recent years about weeding them from my life.  Like any good friend, I will always be a sympathetic ear and a sounding board for their dreams and especially their challenges.  That’s what friends do.  But if they’re still talking about their “plans” or complaining about a situation for a third time but haven’t taken any action, I let them know that they don’t want change, they want sympathy or attention.  That’s also what friends do.  I’ve never met a person who wanted sympathy that I thought deserved it and anyone I ever thought needed my sympathy never wanted it.

Do you have a 5 year plan?  Or do you just have a one year plan you’ll get to in 4 years?

I often asked myself this last question.  It’s an effective catalyst.  And recently, Summy and I have turned one of our biggest goals that was until recently a 10 year plan to a 5 year plan to under a 3 year plan, and an achievable one at that.

“The sooner we get started, the sooner we’ll be finished.” – My Dad

nterro signature

3 Comments on “Jump

  1. Very inspiring, John. The last quote “The sooner we get started, the sooner we’ll get done.” is something my father also said to me and I also pass that along to my children from time to time.

    I do not practice procrastination often, but I do sometimes slip into the warm comfort of satisfaction with what goals I have achieved as of today, my career, and my personal life. However in the same breath I will tell you that I do not believe in fate, that good things come to those who wait, even that “someone” has a plan for me. Ah hell no….

    You either want it or you don’t. I tend to lean towards the educated risk takers, the pioneers, the people that made a difference even though there were people telling them that they would not. Those people are goal achievers. Usually after the first week of working with a person I will know if I would trust them to be in my foxhole or not. I believe that surrounding yourself with people that share the same mentality and culture regarding goals, will also propel you to achieve your goal as well and vice versa. If you think about it, its just human nature.

    Like

    • Thank you Hardik,

      I’m now following you writing as well and really like it.
      I am a minimalist but have yet to directly write about the topic – for now. There a plenty of good articles about it and if I know I have something unique to contribute I will :)
      I really appreciate the feedback and encouragement friend.

      Regards,
      John

      Like

Leave a Reply

Counseling TidBits

New Skills to Last a Lifetime! with JANE A WEISS, LCSW

mayumiaudris

Just another WordPress.com site

vbgirl1

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

Inspirational Quotes | Motivational Blog | Images | Pictures

Quotes For Kids | Success Quotes | Bob Marley Quotes

Globe Drifting

Global issues, travel, photography & fashion. Drifting across the globe; the world is my oyster, my oyster through a lens.

Minimalism and India

Stories about my experiments with a minimalist lifestyle.

WisconZen

Don't just do something...sit there.

