I owe my life to Bruce Mau.

roomHappiness is a choice but I think we’re also happy in proportion to the amount of choices we have.

Very early in my a career I found graphic designer Bruce Mau’s Incomplete Manifesto for Growth, a list of more than 40 pithy suggestions for a successful and happy career as a professional creative.  He cautioned young designers, “Don’t borrow money” as did Frank Gehry before him. “By maintaining financial control, we maintain creative control…  it’s surprising how hard it is to maintain this discipline, and how many have failed.”
Minimalism is rare.  Minimalism among designers is rarer still.  I once joked that design school is a great idea if you want to develop a taste for things you can’t afford.

“The things you own end up owning you.”
-Tyler Durden, Fight Club

I’ve found that living well below one’s means is one the most important strategies you can practice for reducing stress in your life. Minimalism is not just an aesthetic choice for me and it’s more than a reaction to unchecked conspicuous consumption.  By both owning little and consuming even less, I give myself an ability to make my own decisions about the kind of career and life I want to pursue, how I want to spend my time and who I want to spend it with without compromise. I can take creative risks in my job that others can’t because I’m not dependent on it. I don’t resent it when things are challenging because I know I’m there by choice and not some self-induced indentured servitude.

Tyler also said, “It’s only after we’ve lost everything, that we’re free to do anything.”
Less is more. You hear that all the time.
To me, above all else, minimalism translates to less stuff means more freedom and more choices and more happiness.

nterro signature

30 Comments on “I owe my life to Bruce Mau.

  1. I wass suggested this website by my cousin. I’m not
    sure whether this pkst is written by him as no one else know such detailed about my difficulty.

    You’re wonderful! Thanks!

    Like

  2. I do trust all the concepts you’ve presented in your
    post. They’re very convincing and can definitely work.
    Still, the posts are very brief for novices.
    Could you please prolong them a little from subsequent time?
    Thanks for the post.

    Like

  3. I savor, cause I discovered exactly what I used to be taking a look for.
    You’ve ended my four day long hunt! God Bless you man. Have a great day.

    Bye

    Like

  4. Мy partner and I stumƄled over here different web adress and thߋuɡht I should check things
    oսt. I llike what I see so now i’m following yoս.
    Look forward to looking over your web page yet again.

    Like

  5. It’s a pity you don’t have a donate button! I’d most certainly donate to this brilliant blog!
    I guess for now i’ll settle for book-marking and adding your RSS feed to my Google account.
    I look forward to new updates and will talk about this blog with my Facebook group.
    Talk soon!

    Like

  6. Good day! I could have sworn I’ve been to this website before but after browsing through a few of the
    articles I realized it’s new to me. Nonetheless, I’m definitely pleased I discovered
    it and I’ll be book-marking it and checking back often!

    Like

  7. What i do not realize is in fact how you’re not really much more
    well-preferred than you might be right now. You’re so intelligent.
    You realize thus significantly with regards to this
    topic, made me for my part consider it from numerous various angles.
    Its like women and men are not involved unless it’s something to accomplish with Woman gaga!
    Your own stuffs outstanding. All the time take care of it up!

    Like

  8. Hey! This is my first visit to your blog! We are a collection of volunteers
    and starting a new initiative in a community in the same niche.
    Your blog provided us beneficial information to work on. You have
    done a wonderful job!

    Like

  9. That is really interesting, You’re a very professional blogger.
    I’ve joined your rss feed and look ahead to in quest of more of
    your magnificent post. Also, I have shared your website in my social networks

    Like

  10. Good day! I could have sworn I’ve been to this site
    before but after reading through some of the post I realized it’s new to me.
    Anyhow, I’m definitely delighted I found it and
    I’ll be book-marking and checking back often!

    Like

  11. Why in the event you jailbreak?1. We rationalized all of the failings
    and leaned on the cool new functions to get us throughout the day.

    Consequently, what’s the distinction between between Jailbreaking and Unlocking?

    Like

  12. Pe termen lung , aceasta nu va mai conta dacă ai
    casatorit , avea un adept sau sta singur . Cred că am mâncat prea stafide considerabile acoperite cu iaurt .
    Vei avea literalmente capacitatea de a spăla de lire
    sterline în jos în baie !

    Like

  13. Whats up this is kinda of off topic but I was wondering if blogs use WYSIWYG editors
    or if you have to manually code with HTML. I’m starting a blog soon but
    have no coding experience so I wanted to get advice from someone with experience.
    Any help would be greatly appreciated!

    Like

  14. Definitely believe that which you stated. Your favorite justification appeared to be on the net the simplest thing
    to be aware of. I say to you, I definitely get
    annoyed while people think about worries that they just do not know about.

    You managed to hit the nail upon the top as well as defined out the whole thing without having side effect , people
    could take a signal. Will likely be back to get more.
    Thanks

    Like

  15. Based on the reviews, vinyl replacement windows are among the best types.
    Another is by using qualified software to eliminate Windows Defense.
    You will need a fan page that is exclusive to your market.

    Like

  16. It’s an amazing paragraph for all the online visitors; they will take benefit from
    it I am sure.

    Like

  17. Can you obtain third celebration applications that
    the app store doesn’t approve of? Then you go to your admin page, then ‘Plugins’
    and choose your concept and then activate it. Sure…hops, in a Russian Imperial Stout nonetheless.

    Like

  18. Who says you have to check out something different?

    It’s an easy one-click install to include it to your Facebook wall.
    I’m not really a technology-ie, but I have had a couple of computer games I’ve gotten wrapped
    up in.

    Like

  19. If some one wishes expert view regarding blogging and site-building after that
    i suggest him/her to visit this blog, Keep up the nice work.

    Like

  20. Good day! Would you mind if I share your blog with my zynga
    group? There’s a lot of people that I think would really appreciate your content.

    Please let me know. Thanks

    Like

Leave a Reply

Counseling TidBits

New Skills to Last a Lifetime! with JANE A WEISS, LCSW

mayumiaudris

Just another WordPress.com site

vbgirl1

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

Inspirational Quotes | Motivational Blog | Images | Pictures

Quotes For Kids | Success Quotes | Bob Marley Quotes

Globe Drifting

Global issues, travel, photography & fashion. Drifting across the globe; the world is my oyster, my oyster through a lens.

Minimalism and India

Stories about my experiments with a minimalist lifestyle.

WisconZen

Don't just do something...sit there.

