ctrl alt delete

reset 2“Ask yourself what is really important and then have the courage to build your life around your answer.”

Those who know me also know these essays are more of a journal than a sermon. They’re more conviction than proselytization. I believe things like happiness and success can be learned but not necessarily taught. Nearly 100% of the time (nterrobang) is a conversation with myself, a pep talk, me coaching me. And sometimes it’s just a way to organize my own thoughts. If it happens to be a catalyst for someone else, well then I’m happy with that too.

The study of business and success have been long time hobbies of mine but there’s a fundamental problem with many of these books, programs and pithy axioms. It’s all hindsight. It’s easy to write a book about the genius of Steve Jobs after the fact or about Starbuck’s rise to caffeine world domination years later. But could these experts (sic) have predicted it?

Another problem most of these prescriptions for riches have; the antagonist has ‘no skin in the game.’  It’s convenient to encourage others to follow their passion and take big chances when they themselves will never have to live with the consequences.

Today I put skin in the game.  Today I resigned from the company I’ve worked at and helped to build for more than 23 years. I believe I’m leaving on good terms and I am excited for the future of these teams and under different circumstances I might have liked to be a continued part of their growth and transformation.

Instead, I am taking a year (or more) off to write, to travel, to support others, to continue my commitment to personal growth, to strengthening cherished relationships and to create a new career for myself in the process. I’m walking away from the best job in the world to design an even better one.

They say the only difference between fear and excitement is whether or not you’re breathing.

ctrl alt delete

nterro signature

2 Comments on “ctrl alt delete

  1. WOW!!!! CONGRATULATIONS!!!!!! I full-heartedly anticipate greatness :-) Or at least much greater enjoyment of life — for you — and yours — and those that are lucky enough to cross your path. Exciting!!! And I for one, am very confident in your competence. Kudos! and YAY!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Like

  2. I’m looking forwarding to reading more of your journey, you keep things interesting John! (that’s both a comment and an encouragement)

    Like

Leave a Reply

Counseling TidBits

New Skills to Last a Lifetime! with JANE A WEISS, LCSW

mayumiaudris

Just another WordPress.com site

vbgirl1

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

Inspirational Quotes | Motivational Blog | Images | Pictures

Quotes For Kids | Success Quotes | Bob Marley Quotes

Globe Drifting

Global issues, travel, photography & fashion. Drifting across the globe; the world is my oyster, my oyster through a lens.

Minimalism and India

Stories about my experiments with a minimalist lifestyle.

WisconZen

Don't just do something...sit there.

